Real Foods Organic Locust Bean Gum Carob Vegan,

1 Customer Review(s)
Customer Rating: 5.0
(1 votes)
£1.53 612p / 100g
£2.72 544p / 100g
£5.06 506p / 100g
£11.56 462p / 100g
£22.10 442p / 100g
£42.60 426p / 100g
£124.20 414p / 100g
£241.48 402p / 100g

Wholesale Prices

(269p / 100g)
2 x 10kg
£255.97 / 10kg
(256p / 100g)
4 x 10kg
£242.50 / 10kg
(242p / 100g)


Organic Locust Bean Gum Carob Vegan, ingredients: Locust bean gum organic. (no additives).

About Organic Locust Bean Gum Carob Vegan,

Locust bean gum is a vegetable gum extracted from the seeds of the carob tree and is used as a thickening agent and gelling agent in cooking. This is produced in Italy. Carob bean gum is a natural polysaccharide thickener or gum that is used in many food products, such as sauces, dressings, cheese, condiments and ice cream. It is a versatile ingredient that can thicken products at hot or cold temperatures. One unique characteristic of carob bean gum is that is has a sweet, almost chocolatey flavour. As a healthier option than chocolate, it is often used in baked goods and desserts. It also is a gluten replacement option in many foods products and recipes that would normally require flour. It is also been reported to lower cholesterol of the blood. The acceptable daily intake has not been established and the product is regarded as safe as a food additive. However, like most polysaccharide gums, eating a high concentration can bring about bloating, gas, and stomach upset.

Read about Real Foods allergen labelling here.

In Stock

How would you rate this product?

Write a review


Customer reviews

This is a brilliant substitute for cornflour if you want to avoid corn derivatives. As long as you use in small quantities it works fine.

By Charlie Wheeler on 26/08/2015

People Who Bought This Also Bought

Manioc Starch Tapioca Flour ORGANIC
Real Foods
Click for bulk options
Flaxseed Golden Linseed ORGANIC
Real Foods
Click for bulk options
Potato Starch Flour
Real Foods
Click for bulk options
Brown Rice Flour ORGANIC
Suma (500g)

Why not try one of our healthy recipes using this product

Vegan Meringues

Summary: You can still have meringues, even if you are vegan. Give this recipe a try !

Dairy Free Egg Free Grain Free Plant Based Vegan Vegetarian Wheat Free